[6/20/19] Distracted Driving Emphasis
Washington State Patrol will conduct a statewide emphasis on distracted driving this weekend. The Washington Traffic Safety Commission lists distracted driving as the cause of 30 percent of statewide traffic fatalities, and 23 percent of all serious injury collisions. In 2018, WSP contacted over 20,000 drivers for distracted driving, 3,000 more than the previous year. […]
[6/20/19] WSP Distracted Driving
Washington State Patrol (WSP) troopers will conduct a statewide emphasis on distracted driving from Friday, June 21 through Sunday, June 23. In Washington State drivers are prohibited from using a personal electronic device while operating a motor vehicle on a public highway— which includes when stopped in traffic or at a traffic light. Personal electronic […]
Violating Washington’s distracted driving law can be costly. You’re first E-DUI ticket is $136.
Since the law took effect on July 23, 2017– state troopers have issued 6,475 distracted driving warnings statewide — and now, the warnings will be replaced with a ticket.
A focus on students heading to school at Washington State University in Pullman
Fatalities in Washington State caused by distracted driving increased 32% from 2014-2015.
It’s also important to note that drivers will have a 6 month grace period with the new law.